Somebody Loves MeSomebody Loves Me

  1. Somebody Loves Me
  2. Golden Earrings
  3. You're The Cream In My Coffee
  4. The Green Leaves Of Summer
  5. Don't Fence Me In
  6. I Only Have Eyes for You
  7. The Thrill Is Gone
  8. You'd Be So Nice To Come Home To
  9. It Had To Be You
  10. I Don't Want To Set The World On Fire
  11. Moon Song
  12. All Or Nothing At All

Cover Photo: Henry ParkerCzechoslovakia (1968)
The Ray Conniff Cover Girl: Bonnie Trumpeter

This CD can be purchased from Amazon.

The Lp cover on the right is from Czechoslovakia.

Original LP liner notes:

Ray Conniff has a unique way with music. In his latest album for Columbia, Conniff's Singers depart from their customary role as a section of the orchestra; once again they sing song lyrics, rather than the "ba-ba's" and "do-do's" which have become synonymous with the Conniff style. Two different moods are represented in this collection of love songs. "Somebody Loves Me" and "Don't Fence Me In" illustrate a happy, "walkin'" beat used in half of the songs in this album; "Golden Earrings" and "The Thrill Is Gone" are typical of the moody ballad treatment given to the remaining selections. An intriguing musical instrument, the clavietta, sets the mood for "Golden Earrings," "The Green Leaves of Summer," and "Moon Song." Conniff himself plays this instrument for the first time in any of his albums. With a sound somewhere between an accordion and a harmonica, the clavietta adds new dimension and color to the already brillian Conniff sound. Stereo listeners will be interested in the three channel pick-up used for Conniff's Columbia recordings. On the left channel are heard the male singers, the piano and the percussionist. On the right channel are heard the female singers and the harp. The center channel records the rhythm section, including guitars, bass and drums. The left and right channel exchange of voices provides startling stereo effects.

Back | Home