Christmas With ConniffChristmas With Conniff

  1. Here Comes Santa Claus
  2. Winter Wonderland
  3. Rudolph, The Red-Nosed Reindeer
  4. Christmas Bride
  5. Sleigh Ride
  6. Greensleeves (What Child Is This)
  7. Jingle Bells
  8. Silver Bells
  9. Frosty The Snowman
  10. White Christmas
  11. Santa Claus Is Comin' To Town
  12. The Christmas Song

Philips Lp from HollandThis album was recorded in 1959. The tracks are out of order on the CD reissue.

The cover on the right was used on an Lp from Holland (Philips B 47001 L; 847 001 BY stereo).

This CD can be purchased from Amazon.

Original LP liner notes:

When the Christmas season begins to draw upon us, the bemused denizens of Walt Kelly's version of Okefinokee swamp the location of Pogo stomp around wishing each other a merry crispness. This is a very cheerful thought indeed, and it finds expression in this holiday package from Ray Conniff and the Conniff Singers, a merry crispness in approach and performance to a garland of Christmas songs. Designed as a presentation for dancing, it naturally omits carols, but it brings together some of the best-loved songs of recent years, along with the ageless Jingle Bells and the even older charm of Greensleeves.

Mr. Conniff, in the guise of St. Nick, has arranged these delightful songs in his inimitable manner, using the voices as basic ingredients of the orchestral fabric, and gaining special inspiration from the cheery character that most of them have. There are ballads, of course: Silver Bells, the romantic Christmas Song and that sine qua non of the season, White Christmas, but most of the tunes are bright and jolly as befits a Yuletide celebration and as befits a Christmas dancing party. So deck the hall, hang up the mistletoe and remember not to dance too close to the tree. Here are Ray Conniff and the Conniff singers with a wonderful Christmas gift, a shiny, glistening package of beloved songs for you dancing pleasure.

Back | Home